DV Lottery 2016

DV-2018 Eligible Countries.

8:16 AM 9/19/2016

DV-2018 visa lottery program will not allow Bangladesh and Nigeria born people to participate in this draw along with some other countries. Good news for the Ecuador people as they are now allowed to participate in this year green card lottery draw.

Born in Eligible Country, living in ineligible country, can I apply for the draw?
I was born in an eligible county, now I am living in an ineligible country, can I participate in this program?

Yes, you can participate in the selection draw, if you have the required education/work experience. For example a person who was born in Nigeria and had lived all his life in India because of his father's business nature, is eligible to participate in the draw.

If any of his siblings were born in India, they too can apply claiming their parent's birth country. Indian born person can't enter in this draw, but if the person is married to a Sri Lankan woman (or a person from any of the eligible country) he can submit one entry, claiming his wife's country for eligibility.

If he is selected in the draw and at the interview and had received the immigrant visa, he can't enter the USA alone as he had claimed eligibility through his wife. So he must enter in to the USA along with his wife.

Take note in the last year held program Nigerian born people and Bangladesh born people were not allowed to participate in that draw as both these countries were listed in the ineligible country list along with some other countries. In the DV 2018 draw again both these countries born people along with some other countries are not allowed to participate in the draw due to high immigration rate to the USA from their countries in the past 5 year period.

People born in the following countries are not allowed to participate in this year draw.

Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.

Mean while people born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan are eligible.